Saturday, February 18, 2017

3rd phase of UP Assembly polls on Sunday

Elaborate arrangements have been put in place for tomorrow's third phase of Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. 69 constituencies, spread over 12 districts, will go to polls in this phase.

The districts include Lucknow, Etawah, Kanpur Nagar, Auraiya, Barabanki and Sitapur. The Election Commission has made all security and other arrangements to ensure smooth polling. Sensitive and crowded places will be monitored round the clock. Borders of the districts going to polls have been put under surveillance.

Central paramilitary forces, CRPF, police and PAC have been deployed for round the clock checking. The poll authorities have banned the sale and transportation of liquor till the voting is over. AIR correspondent reports that Meanwhile, campaigning has reached a feverish pitch for the fourth phase. Top leaders of various political parties are leaving no stone unturned to win the voters. AIR correspondent reports that voting in the fourth phase will be held on Thursday for 53 seats.

Today is also the last day for withdrawal of candidature for the sixth phase, in which 49 Assembly segments will go to polls on the 4th of next month. The 403-member UP Assembly is going to polls in seven phases. The withdrawal of nominations for the first phase of Manipur polls can also be done till today. 38 of the 60 constituencies will go to polls in the first of the two phases on the 4th of next month.

No comments:

World Economic Situation and Prospects ON  MAY 18, 2018  BY  NARESH SAGAR LEAVE A COMMENT EDIT   UN: Growth in global economy exc...