Saturday, March 11, 2017

Congress returns to power in Punjab

Congress wrested power in Punjab securing 77 seats in the 117-member Punjab Assembly, one short of two-third majority. The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal-BJP combine managed 18 seats. Aam Admi Party has won 20 seats and smaller parties two.
Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal retained his traditional Lambi constituency defeating State Congress President Amrinder Singh. Amrinder Singh, however, retained his Patiala seat.
Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal has retained Jalalabad seat, defeating Aam Admi Party MP Bhagwant Mann. Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, contesting on Congress ticket, has won the Amritsar East seat.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Captain Amarinder Singh on the win of the Congress in Punjab Assembly elections. In a tweet, Mr Modi said he spoke to the Mr Singh and also wished him a happy birthday and prayed for his long and healthy life.

No comments:

Rail Contact 2018 ON  JUNE 19, 2018  BY  NARESH SAGAR LEAVE A COMMENT EDIT Bullets trains has been long hawkish by various gover...